FUF #4: Whomp…Whomp…Whomp!

What a bummer! I challenged the challenge head on but probably bit off too much by lining up three goals that are more project-like in nature and required hands on time when this was my long week at work! Bah! Oh, well! Not to be discouraged…failure just means an opportunity to try again and go harder next time!!!

But all wasn’t completely lost this week…it just wasn’t nearly as victorious as the previous one! I did make a few steps into the three mini-challenges but due to the lack of free time, I didn’t finish the projects completely!

Here’s my progress so far:

1) Pick up photography again and explore Charlotte: The winter storm that came through did bring some bad traffic across the south but it also provided a great inspiration as a backdrop for my first photo project! I kind of cheated and didn’t really drive out to explore the city but the woods in my backyard was just as pretty to explore and photograph; plus it kept me off the crazy icy/snowy roads.

It felt nice to have my Sony DSLR in my hands again and with my longer lens in tow, I was able to capture birds and my surprise guests—a family of deer!!! The reason why I only half-finished this goal though is that I haven’t had time to really look through my shots, but here is a teaser! Don’t judge that it’s not all that fancy…I’m no professional! I just love goofin’ off with my camera!!!

20140131-231615.jpg

2) Get caught up with current events: I’m ashamed to admit that I get so easily caught up in my bubble that I don’t know what is going on in other parts of the world! This is embarrassing!!! So the goal was to read the local paper and I did…but guess what, all week long, all the Queen City talked about was the snow and the chaos that ensued with it. Not exactly the current events that I was thinking l needed to really immerse myself in…I’d like to challenge myself to go even deeper and dig further! Does anyone have any readers/sites/bloggers to recommend?

3) Make a handmade card for a friend and snail mail it: Soooo…I’m half way through this one as well. I was just going to make a card as I challenged myself but then I got excited and came up with an idea to make a care package for a friend (details on a later post!). Let’s just say again that lack of time prevented me from actually getting the package finished and mailed off! Oh well! At least, I’m one step into it and I know they will just love the random surprise whenever I finally do finish it!!!! 🙂

So…although not as accomplished as I had hope, at least the week wasn’t a complete bust! Can’t expect to just breeze through resolutions and goals every week! 😉

Goofin’ off, KW

20140131-233155.jpg

Leave a Reply

