Coast to Coast: Resolutions Revisited #1

I’m so excited because this is my first ever post joining a link-up! I’m a bit embarrassed to report that I had to Google the rules of a link-up even though the awesome hosts, Port City Prescriptions and Flowers In My Hair, explained the rules. I just wanted to make sure I do this right! Can’t you tell I’m a bit behind in the blogging scene?!? HA HA HA!

HeatherButton

So, the rules for the link-up: recap the resolutions, link to the fabulous ladies of Coast to Coast: Resolutions Revisited, and repeat every last Tuesday of the month! Easy enough…here we go!

My list of resolutions were a bit generic but my plan of attack of Mission Possible Mondays and Follow-Up Fridays has been very successful! Little baby steps, every week to ultimately achieve all of the goals below:

1) Lose weight
2) Improve finances
3) Exercise more
4) Get a new/better job
5) Eat healthy
6) Manage stress
7) Quit smoking (Thank God, I never picked up this bad habit!)
8) Improve relationship
9) Stop procrastinating
10) Set aside “me” time

So, here’s the recap:

Four weeks into the new year, and I’m proud to report that MPMs and FUFs have been gosh-durned successful so far!!! I’m really proud of staying on top of this and really making it a weekly goal to start off every week strong and on the right foot by challenging myself and then truly holding myself accountable by the end of the week by assessing and evaluating how I did. The small weekly goals also make the loooooong list of resolutions more realistic and attainable! LOL!

So, which resolutions have I put a dent on with the MPMs and FUFs…

Resolutions 1, 3, and 5: Well, I haven’t lost all of the weight that I wanted to lose but I can definitely report that the relatively healthier meals and snacks I have been eating has at least helped me shed off my excess water weight. It’s unfortunate that my work schedule is posing as a barrier for me making it to Planet Fitness more often, but when I do make it in there, I try to go as hard as I possibly can and go as long as I can! (I can already hear the, “That’s what she said,” comments!!!) I absolutely love the 30-minute circuit workout in my location and I would recommend getting the membership for those who are super self-conscious about working out with machines–they really do live up to the “No Judgment Zone” at PF! Might be silly, but I get really paranoid that people are looking at me like I’m way in over my head with some machines, but I don’t have to worry about that at PF!

Resolution #2: On the topic of finances…I actually am challenging myself to be more budget conscious, starting NOW! I am always big on shopping deals and looking for sales, and I hardly ever buy anything at the suggested retail price–but that doesn’t mean that I’m not splurging either. Eventually, all the small purchases add up very quickly! Yikes! With that said, I’m challenging myself to start looking at how to better budget–including groceries, especially trying to figure out how to reduce waste!!! Does anyone have any budgeting books/sites or worksheets to recommend???

Resolutions 4 and 6: I’m bundling up managing stress with work, since that typically generates the most stress in my life! I’d love to just say that I love helping out my patients so much and that taking care of their health provides me with ultimate, 100% job satisfaction, but there are just those other patients, MDs, and insurance companies that make me want to pull my hair out and just scream. Plus, working in the corporate setting where the bosses want to get as much work for as little manpower as possible, can be very disheartening as a manager…but hey, those are negatives that I’ve been working really hard on these past couple of weeks to overcome, and I’d like to think that I have. Even my husband can attest that I’ve been complaining less and less…bless his heart! He he he! To be honest, there have been two key things that have been really big wins for me in this area: PERSPECTIVE and DELEGATING. I’ve been really striving hard to see my job through different people’s eyes, as well as try not to be Superwoman and be so controlling–delegating for a Type A person is crazy difficult, but when done correctly can be so rewarding! ๐Ÿ˜€

Resolution 8: Work on my relationships…so vague yet…hmm! I’ll defer on this one for now because this post is getting too long and to be honest, besides always striving to make my relationship with my husband stronger, to always take care of my family, and to find ways to reconnect with my friends who are far…there is just so much that I can work and more importantly, there is always my relationship with God that I need to spend time on!

Resolution 9: Stop procrastinating…hmmm…how about I’m still working on not procrastinating on stopping procrastinating. LOL!

Resolution 10:ME” time…working on this, too! With the help of my fabulous husband, we’re working on this and still finding ways for me to relax, slow down, and enjoy life…not get too caught up life!

Anyways…this is getting too long and well, if any of you have any suggestions on how to make bigger strides with any of these goals, please let me know! I’d love to also see what everyone else is doing! ๐Ÿ˜€

Goofin’ off, KW

3 thoughts on “Coast to Coast: Resolutions Revisited #1

  1. I feel you on a lot of these. Especially numbers 4 & 6- you know!! I’ve found those 2 are affected quite a bit by my attitude going into work. Shoot… that means I have more control than I’d care to admit. Thanks again so much for joining us! I am really excited to see all our progress this year!

    • Just a thought to share that someone brought up at a CVS leadership training, “Are you running the store, or is the store running you?” When he asked the group that, it really made me think about how I approached every day at work, and I try to start every shift with a more positive mindset! Of course, still a lot more work to go in our very early stages of our career!!!

  2. I love that you have weekly mini goals. Such a good idea. More attainable too. Delegating is really hard for me as is handling stress. So glad you could join us. PS remember to add yourself to the linkup. On heather’s blog, or mine, there is a little button at the end that says add link. That way you will show up with everyone else so we can go on this journey together. I’m excited to get to know you!

Leave a Reply

